Marathon training: 13 weeks to go!

London marathon training… 13 weeks to go!

For the last 7 days:
Average resting heart rate – 61 beats per minute.
Average sleep – 8 hours per night
Average steps – 12,070 per day

This is what I am supposed to be doing this week:
Capture
Key: ER = Easy Run, SR = Steady Run, LR = Long Run, TR = Threshold Run, FR = Fartlek

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Monday – 5.22 @ 45:01 – 8.38 average pace / 8.4km – 5.22 average pace…
This was supposed to be fartlek but my legs felt SO tired so I just tried to run at a steady pace. I was massively sweaty for a couple of hours later which wasn’t good.
Heart rate (bpm) – 177 average, 193 max

Tuesday – 5.86 miles @ 50:05 – 8.33 average pace / 9.43km – 5.19 average pace…
This was 10 min ER, 3 x (8min TR, 2min ER), 10 min ER and felt really good 😀

  • 10 MIN ER @ average pace = 9.06/mile
  • 8 MIN TR @ average pace = 7.54/mile
  • 2 MIN ER @ average pace = 8.29/mile
  • 8 MIN TR @ average pace = 7.56/mile
  • 2 MIN ER @ average pace = 11.07/mile
  • 8 MIN TR @ average pace = 7.59/mile
  • 2 MIN ER @ average pace = 8.49/mile
  • 10 MIN ER @ average pace = 9.10/mile

Heart rate (bpm) – 176 average, 193 max

Wednesday – 3.5 miles @ 30:01 – 8.35 average pace / 5.63km – 5.20 average pace…
This was very tough. I was supposed to do a 59 min run with 3 x 10 min threshold runs but didn’t feel like I could do it and didn’t want to burn myself out knowing I had a half marathon at the weekend. I decided to cut the run short.
Heart rate (bpm) – 173 average, 195 max

Thursday – Rest

Friday – Cross train & stretch!

  • 5 min run to warm up3 x
  • 12 x shoulder press
  • 12 x sit ups
  • 12 x press ups
  • Plank for 1 min
  • 15 min stretch

Saturday – VICTORIA PARK HALF MARATHON
13.1 @ 1:52:58 – 8.36 average pace / 21.1km – 5.22 average pace
Ran a very fast 4 miles and the slowed it down a little. Stopped almost every mile to walk and stretch my left leg from about mile 8. Got really bad pain in my left leg… think it might be shin splints. I have a dominant right leg and my left leg isn’t keeping up throughout all of the training. It feels so painful to walk even after a good stretch and epsom salt bath. Need to take a week off I think. On the plus side, I do feel really fit… it was only my achey leg which stopped me from smashing it.
Heart rate (bpm) – 175 average, 191 max

unknown2.jpg

Sunday – Rest

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

FOR THE ENTIRE WEEK:
TRAINING PLAN: 
45 min, cross train, 50 min, 59 min, 10 miles 
WHAT I DID: 45 min, 50 min, 30 min, cross train, 13.1 miles

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

I am running the marathon for the elephants. A marathon is going to be a hard task, but if elephants can go through the ‘crush’ and a life in captivity, then I can get through a 26.2 mile run. If you’d like to support me and the elephants, please click here.

If you want to read about my experience volunteering at the Elephant Nature Park and the truth behind elephant tourism, please click here.

1234

Leave a comment